Foundation Staff

Neal Harvey

Neal commenced as CEO of the Tim Fairfax Family Foundation in January 2021. Prior to that role, Neal was a Program Manager at The Myer Foundation and Sidney Myer Fund. During his time with The Myer Foundation and Sidney Myer Fund, Neal secured the tax-free status of the Sidney Myer Creative Fellowships, established A New Approach (Australia’s first think tank dedicated to arts and culture), and created the National Assistance Program for the Arts – a nation-wide COVID-19 emergency program supported by 29 philanthropists in every Australian state and territory.

Neal has a First-Class Honours BA and a PhD from the University of Queensland and an MBA from University of Melbourne/Melbourne Business School. He is currently Chair of Philanthropy Australia’s Arts Funders Network and a Fellow of the Queensland Academy of Arts and Sciences.


Katie Norman

Katie brings her education and health sector experience to the TFFF team as the Senior Program Manager. Previously the CEO and Co-Founder of the Sustainable Schools Network (SSN), Katie curated the Educating for Sustainability in Queensland: Discussion Paper 2019-2020 to enable the environmental education sector to advocate for enhanced support. The SSN was recognised in 2020 as a Banksia Awards finalist, and delivered nineteen journals and numerous professional development events to educate and connect regional and rural Australian schools. 

Prior to her engagement with the education sector, Katie spent her early professional years as a therapeutic program facilitator and drug and alcohol counsellor in community and custodial corrections. Often this work was conducted in rural and remote communities in the Northern Territory and Queensland. Katie is passionate about ensuring locally-relevant, early intervention and understands education is a critical pathway to the healthy and vibrant futures of young people.

Katie has a Bachelor of Science (Psychology) with Honours, is the Secretary of the Australian Association for Environmental Education (AAEE) National Executive and the Chapter Liaison of the Queensland AAEE Chapter.


Hannah Barr

Hannah joined the TFFF team after four years with Queensland Theatre (QT), most recently in the role of Development Coordinator. During her time at QT, Hannah worked across government, corporate and philanthropic relationships to support education and youth programs, artist pathways initiatives and mainstage productions.

Having worked as both an administrator in the not-for-profit sector, and an independent theatre artist, Hannah has a keen interest in the ways private and government sectors can collaborate to sustain and grow Queensland’s, and Australia’s, creative and cultural industries. She is particularly invested in increasing education and career development opportunities for marginalised groups in the creative workforce. 

Hannah has a Bachelor of Fine Arts and First-Class Honours BA from the Queensland University of Technology.